History’s First Drafts

Hello and welcome to your weekly outlet of the strange and bizarre. Or, as we like to call it, Mundanevision. 

Chris: Hey Siri!

Siri: Good afternoon, Chris.

Chris: What’s going on?

Siri: What isn’t going on? The world and day are so dramatic.

Chris: It keeps spinning, though, which is good – if it didn’t keep spinning, we would all fall off!

Siri: Yep, the sun comes up and the world still spins. You’re right there.

Chris: Did you see the BAFTAs on Sunday?

Siri: I did not. I saw about some of the winnings, but I didn’t watch them. Did you? Did anything interesting happen?

Chris: Yes. As predicted, La La Land won a lot of awards. It’s interesting actually: the original script to La La Land is a teletubbies’ spin off, just focusing on the character La La.

Image result for la la land teletubby

Siri: Emma Stone portrays her quite successfully. She’s got that yellow dress and things.

Chris: I didn’t see any TV though, in her stomach. Maybe she just had one of those very flat screen ones – the knew 4k curved ones

Siri: Yes, that’s probably it. I don’t know who Ryan Gosling was supposed to be playing though?

Chris: Well, as with all spin offs, they will introduce new characters, so that it doesn’t feel like exactly the same show.

Siri: Ah, I see. It’s kind of inceptiony – our readers are reading on a screen about a film that was on a screen with a character who acted on a screen in it, who also had a screen on her stomach?!

Chris: And critics went to see it at the screening. And during the showing they probably might have had ice screen. OH no, that’s ice-cream. I’ve broken the chain now!

Siri: It was good while it lasted.

Chris: I enjoy breaking chains, oh slaves, they should all go free.

Siri: There are slaves in my new favourite musical, Hamilton. Almost everything in life is reminding me of Hamilton at the moment, have you ever had that kind of obsessive addiction?

Image result for hamilton

Chris: Yes. When I was reading the original Red Rising Trilogy (written by Piers Brown), I started living the book.

Siri: How? In what way?

Chris: Well, I was so into it, the characters have signs on their hands to denote what colour they are, so I started seeing the gold sign on my hand, because I’m one of the ruling classes, obviously.

Siri: Obviously. It’s quite creepy when that happens, isn’t it?

Chris: I didn’t mind it. I’m sure I will be getting the same feeling from his new book when it comes out next year.

Siri: (Sponsor us please, Piers Brown! We’re advertising for you!)

Image result for pierce brown red rising

Chris: Yes.

Siri: It’s always things like books and films and tv shows (and musicals, I guess!) that get into my head like that.

Chris: Has Hamilton anything to do with Hamelet?

Siri: Erm… Yes? In one of the songs, Alexander Hamilton, one of America’s founding fathers, mentions Macbeth, who was in a play named Macbeth. Also, the person who wrote Macbeth wrote a play called Hamlet with someone in it named Hamlet. So I guess you could say that’s a pretty direct link, eh?

Chris: Yes. You could ruin a whole Hamlet play just by calling your main character village.

Siri: That would be misleading.

Hamlet.jpg

Chris: I wonder whether the original script of Hamlet was a tour guide, around Denmark.

Siri: How so?

Chris: Because he mentioned Hamlets, which is obviously a character, but he doesn’t mention villages, or towns, so I think they were cut out, because he couldn’t get the funding.

Siri: Yes, but why Denmark?

Chris: I don’t know, I guess Denmark didn’t have that many tour guides written about it, back in 1600. Although the date is uncertain.

Siri: Yes, we’ve just consulted our dear friend the sloth, who did some research and found that Hamlet was written at an unknown date between 1599 and 1602. So who knows what century it was published in?

Chris: I reckon William Shakespeare must have forgotten that he wrote the play for years.

Siri: Yes, and then just put a few dates on different pages to confuse everyone.

Chris: You do that with checks. If you don’t cash it, you put today’s or yesterday’s date on it, just to be like ‘yes, I did get it in on time!’

Siri: I used to do that with homework, I used to write the day it was set, or the day after that on the top, so that the teacher marking it would think I was very organised and had started it as soon as it was set, instead of waiting until the break time before it was due.

Chris: That’s very clever, however it could backfire, because you could have put the date on from before she set it, and then got in so much trouble!

Siri: I think that they probably knew everyone was doing it!

Chris: We don’t do that with Mundanevision!

Siri: I know, we don’t even pre-record them, or pre-write them, like they do for some TV shows (like New Year’s ones).

Chris: Or, I’m sure, even some blogs!

Siri: Ooh, those rebellious cheeky people that pre-write their blogs. I’m proud we are not those people. No offence to any of you that do, I’m sure you’re lovely.

Chris: So, anyway, I think we stumbled on something before Hamlet was Hamlet, it was a travel guide to the villages and towns of Denmark written by Shakespeare before he made his fortune. You didn’t know he was a travel writer, but you’ve got to start somewhere!

Image result for denmark

Siri: Clearly he didn’t do very well at it, since no one even knew he was a Danish Travel Writer. There I was thinking he was an English playwright, I could not have been more silly.

Chris: Or maybe he was English, but he just wrote about Denmark.

Siri: My word he was clever! Why has no one mentioned before that he had so many brains?

Chris: Mundanevision, uncovering mysteries since… sometime in the past.

Siri: Yes, we’ll have to get old Will’s help at figuring out when we started the blog, or at least to guess a few random dates!

Chris: And, with that, we must say goodbye. If you feel like Charles Dickens is a butterfly collector, please let us know, and please like this post!

Siri: You are welcome to like this post even if you think Charles Dickens was a novelist.

Chris: If you don’t like this post, who do you think you are? Sponsored by BBC? Peace.

About mundanevision

Every day could be a Mundanevision blogisode day, now that they are posting weekly .So Grab a cup of tea and a biscuit and get comfortable because you're going to read about the least trendy topics.It's a blog you really do want to miss...
This entry was posted in Comedy, Humour, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

